The Balkan Heritage Foundation and the Department of Archaeology at New Bulgarian University

are pleased to invite you to

Trypillia megasites from the 4th millennium BCE in the Ukrainian forest steppe. Can a single site tell us something about early urbanism?

 by
Dr. Bisserka Gaydarska
(Durham / NBU)

on Saturday, February 6, 2021
at 1 pm New York (EST), 6 pm London, UK (GMT),  8 pm Sofia, Bulgaria (EET)

The event will last approximately 90 mins including Q&A.
To register your interest and receive a Zoom link, please RSVP to bhfs.admissions@gmail.com

(Please do check your spam/junk inbox if you do not receive a confirmation email within a day.)

The Trypillia megasites in the North Black Sea forest steppes of Ukraine and Moldova are the largest known settlements in 4th millennium BCE Europe and possibly in the world. A better understanding of the origin and functions of these massive agglomerations implies the reconsideration of their economic, cultural and social contexts. New evidence from recent archaeological investigations in Nebelivka (early 4th mill BCE) is discussed in terms of the implications that such large settlements could have on both local environment and social organization. Three alternative models of occupation of megasites (distributed governance model, assembly model and pilgrimage model) led to a global debate of early urbanism.

For information on the BEMA series including upcoming seminars, please see our website.